Contact Info
Cornwall PL11 3BU
Call (01503) 230276
or email us
Sunday Lunches & Cream Teas

Cornish Clotted Cream Teas & our NEW Sunday Lunch menu

Read more >
Family Summer Offer

7 night special packages in July & August...

Read more >
Newsletter

Sign up to our newsletter to recieve exclusive monthly deals!

  • "OUR 2nd YEAR. WE HAVE ALREADY BOOKED FOR NEXT YEAR"
  • "Spotlessly clean room. Slept so well. Huge breakfast"
  • “Made use of the lovely pool, steam room and sauna”
  • "Lovely Pool and Steam Room"
  • "THE FOOD WAS EXCELLENT AND I FELT VALUED AS A GUEST"
  • "THE FOOD WAS SUPERB"
  • "3 course meal at Whitsand Bay. It was excellent"
  • "View, Great Staff, Beach and Golf Course"
  • "Pure Pleasure"
  • "WELL LOOKED AFTER & LOVELY FOOD IN A GREAT LOCATION"
  • "A Warm Family Welcome"
  • "Couldn't fault this Cornish Gem. Loved it and will go again"
  • “I HAVE RECOMMENDED IT TO ALL OF MY FAMILY AND FRIENDS”
  • "THE HOTEL IS FAMILY FRIENDLY & DOG FRIENDLY"
  • "Our 3 night family break was an absolute dream. So much so that we extended it"
  • "WELL WORTHY OF ITS TRIP ADVISOR CERT OF EXCELLENCE"
  • "Exceeded Expectations" (2013)

How to Post a Review...

Listening to your feedback is extremely important to us.
If  you  would like to post a review, please follow our Facebook link or email us

“A Great Stay in this Lovely Hotel”
We needed a hotel that would allow us to take our dog. It had to be a spacious room in a good location and provide breakfast and dinners. This hotel ticked all those boxes and did not let us down. It was a superb place to stay. Set on the sea front the views from the terraces and lounges provided glorious panoramic views of the bay. The staff could not have been friendlier to us or our Labrador. They made us feel really at ease. The food was superb and the choice for main meals for breakfast was more than adequate and very well cooked and served. We have no hesitation recommending this glorious hotel. (Extract May 2015)

“An Excellent Friendly Family Run Hotel and Golf Course”
My friends and I are golfers and we have been visiting this hotel for the last 20 + years and that in itself tells you something about the place and its idyllic setting. From arrival to departure, every one of the family and staff made us feel part of the furniture. Nothing was too much trouble for them. We will be back next year and our grateful thanks go to the whole Phillips family for making our stay so much fun. Give it a try, it’s a little gem. (Extract May 2015)

“Great Lunch and a Wonderful View”
We went to this hotel for lunch on a lovely sunny day. it is very good value for an excellent meal. I have been several times before but the menu had changed slightly and the two courses I had were wonderful - especially the rump steak. After lunch there is unlimited tea or coffee in the lounge but as it was such a gorgeous day - we sat overlooking Portwrinkle Bay on one of the outside tables on the terrace. This hotel is wonderful value for money with outstanding views. (Extract May 2015)

“Our Perfect Wedding”
We had our wedding reception at the hotel and it was the most amazing day! Beautiful setting, perfect venue for kids and adults, wonderful food from night before, throughout our reception and continued at an excellent standard through to breakfast the morning after. Staff and owners were very helpful and went out of their way to accommodate guests with late night transport and hotel bookings. Our day was perfect. Paul one of the owners he went the extra mile for us giving us everything we asked for. Clare and Jay Elworthy (Extract May 2015)

"Wedding Extravaganza WOW!"
The royal wedding of the year I dare you to beat this.
We attended the wedding of my beautiful big sister Karen and now brother in law Lee Pea. What a great venue for a wedding, everything about it was perfect. Catering for children, with the lush swimming area and activities offered which included snooker and table tennis. The steam room and sauna was an added bonus. The staff were so, so friendly and welcoming; nothing was too much trouble their attention to detail was flawless. I urge you to come and see for yourself. The food was off the scale. The chef could easily be Michelin starred. Yum yum bravo. We were so impressed we are going back in August for a family feast to die for. Looking forward to exploring the surrounding cliff top walks and the impressive scenery which is offered in abundance, it is truly breath-taking believe me. We are taking our adorable doggy Poppy; she will love it. As a family we love Cornwall anyway. What made it all so special as well, were the friends and family we had there with us. We all embraced such a perfect and idealistic surrounding. We had so many laughs and relaxed to make 2 people we all love feel cherished and loved beyond belief. Paul, Cherise and Harrison x (May 2015)

“The Perfect Wedding Venue”
Whitsand Bay Hotel was the perfect choice of venue to celebrate my daughters marriage. Chloe (Wedding Organiser) was fantastic in the communication and clarification leading up to the big day. The staff were friendly, helpful, polite, accommodating and worked so hard to make sure the day ran smoothly and to our exact requests. There was a high standard of presentation and the food was absolutely fantastic. The rooms were clean, comfortable and with great views across the sea front and gardens. (April 2015)

"Lovely Family Hotel"
We stayed here for a couple of nights for our friends wedding earlier this month and would just like to say how lovely our weekend was. This hotel is lovely and family friendly - even Emma the dog didn't mind being hassled by our toddler! The food was great and hotel is in a fab location. Would love to visit again. (April 2015)

“Lovely Short Break”
On arrival we were greeted by a lovely receptionist. Our room was large with plenty of space and a great sea view. We decided to have dinner on our 1st night in the restaurant and wow what lovely food and service. After dinner we could retire to the lounge for coffee which was provided (but you had to help yourselves) not a problem. We then decided to have a drink in the bar, which is small but yet again very friendly. Sam the barman was great he chatted and was very attentive to our needs and others. We had a great night’s sleep very peaceful and quiet. We booked in for a massage for the next day. Rebecca the beauty therapist was very friendly and very professional in her work. We also used the pool and sauna. Breakfast was great so much to choose from juices, cereals, fruit, pastries and of course the full Cornish fry up. I would like to say a big thank you to the hotel for all the service provided throughout our stay. It was so friendly and warming. Food excellent as well. Would I stay here again? A big definite Yes. (April 2015)

"Our Wedding"

Wow! Lee and I got married here in April 2015 and I can honestly say from the moment we arrived, to the friendly and helpful receptionist welcoming us and all guests, advising us on restaurant timings and hotel facilities, from the Friday to our eedding on the Saturday and leaving on the Monday it felt like a fairy tale - just absolutely amazing. I definitely recommend having exclusivity of the hotel for your wedding, it felt like home. Customer service was second to none, all staff were wonderful, the Phillips family run the hotel marvellously and are just so lovely. The food is delicious, we could not have asked for better and all guests commented on how tasty and well presented the wedding meal was. The bridal suite was great, views so beautiful, makes you feel so relaxed. What a fantastic hotel with wonderful surrounding area, hidden away and to me the Bride, it felt like paradise. Once again thank you to all staff for making our special wedding memories that will be with us forever. We will be returning. (Karen & Lee April 2015)

“Special Place”
We have just returned from Whitsand Bay. The weather was perfect, the setting fabulous, the bride beautiful. We stayed in room 25. And even though it's right at the top we think we had one of the best rooms. No noise from above, very spacious room (and a mini work out every time you go up to your room). A lovely king size bed, two singles, a desk, a sofa and a dressing room. The TV and bath could be a bit larger, but that said we would still love to return to this room in the future. Breakfast was super, there was fruit, cereal, scrambled egg and salmon, full Cornish, toast. No need to go hungry. A varied evening meal menu and food available throughout the day either in the lounge, bar or bistro set menu lunch. Cream tea was also super. The staff were genuinely hospitable, warm and friendly and nothing was too much trouble. In fact we are returning in August, didn't want to leave, we felt like were part of the family. My husband also played golf there, the 18 hole course is great, with magnificent views. There was free Wi-Fi but it didn't reach the rooms, but that wasn't a problem for us. (April 2015)

“Mini Break Special”
This is the 2nd time we have stayed and it was as good as the 1st time. We managed to stay in the same room (No 8) at the front with amazing sea views and nicely spacious. The room was very clean and comfortable and the king size bed was a treat. The staff were warm and friendly and there was a relaxed feel about the place. The food was excellent, as was the 1st time we stayed. We chose to eat in the restaurant the 3 nights we stayed and the food was always lovely and hot and there was plenty of it, along with being very tasty. We will definitely be coming back. (April 2015)

“A Big Thank You”
A big thank you to all the hotel staff who made my parents 50th wedding anniversary so special this weekend. They said it was perfect in every way. (March 2015)

“What a Wonderful Place”
Went to Whitsand Bay Hotel with a small group of 8. I’m so glad we booked as I’d hate to have missed the wonderful food they serve and also the ambience of this lovely hotel. The cost is the best around by far and the service excellent. There is also a golf course and the wonderful ocean that stretches for miles can be seen from the windows. You are never rushed to eat your meal and afterwards tea and coffee is served complimentary. Give it a try. Breath taking views from the rooms that face the sea. (March 2015)

“Unexpected Night Away”
Family run and it is also a good hotel for family holidays as well (dogs are welcome). The hotel is solidly built and overlooks the stunning Whitsand Bay. The gardens are well kept and there is plenty of outside seating to enjoy your drink or coffee while taking in the beautiful views across the bay. The beach is only a short downward walk away so a dip in the sea is easily possible. The hotel does have an indoor swimming pool which is a bonus. We had booked for an all in one Dinner, Bed & Breakfast deal which was extremely reasonable pricewise. The Dinner was good and my husband commented it was the best cheese and biscuits course he had ever been presented with - all Cornish cheeses by the way. (March 2015)

"5 Star Wedding Venue"
Wow! What a weekend, the staff at and hotel could not have done anymore to make this the best weekend of our lives. The food for the wedding breakfast, the view of the sea from the ceremony room and the efficiency and friendliness of the staff were all second to none. We could not have asked for a better place to hold our wedding - the sun even came out! Thank you to everyone for making this such a special day for us, our family and friends. The Bride and Groom (Lisa and Paul) (Feb 2015)

“Wedding Venue First Class”
Fantastic venue, terrific accommodation, super staff and excellent food. What a fantastic weekend you provided for our daughter's wedding. I cannot thank you enough. Many of us travelled over 200 miles and were rewarded with a perfect setting and a dream wedding. Thank you all Allen and Janet (Feb 2015)

“Beautiful Place”
Spent a few days over half term here, what a relaxing hotel it is, so elegant. We had a large room with a perfect sea view, warm pool, great steam room and sauna. The Cornish breakfasts are plentiful with lots of choices, could not fault it at all. The owner was so friendly, offering to take photos in the pool of us. Will definitely come back, when the pace of life gets hectic again as I know it’s a great remedy for recuperation! And also they accept dogs, which gave us the chance to get onto the beach in 2 seconds flat! Go you won’t be disappointed and marvellous value. (Feb 2015)

"A Big Thank You"
A big THANK YOU to Paul, Tracey, John, Debbie and all the staff, too many to remember, for the most memorable weekend. You pulled out all the stops for Mark and Nickie's wedding, and you all went above and beyond what any of us expected. I have never attended a wedding before where there wasn't a hitch. You gave such a lot of people wonderful memories. Thanks again xxxxx Feb 2015

"Very Fond Memories"
We have had some wonderful times with the family years ago and as a couple playing golf. I learnt to play there. Some great evenings in the bar. Very fond memories. It would be lovely to visit the place again. (Extract Feb 2015)

"Love to Return"
Would love to return here soon, it is close to my heart. (Extract Feb 2015)

"4th Time"
Coming on for a 4th time on one of your Ladies Golf Breaks next week and can't wait. My husband is really jealous as I enthuse so much about the hotel after every trip. See you Monday. (Extract Feb 2015)

"Amazing"
Stayed here in January - great place good food and the staff very friendly – amazing (Feb 2015)

"A Wonderful Stay"
Had a wonderful stay for a combined birthday. Great hospitality, fab food & lovely rooms (Feb 2015)

"A Fab Stay"
Had a fab stay here a few years ago. Idyllic setting, delicious food, lovely staff.  Would love to go again. (Feb 2015)

"Love this Hotel"
Love this hotel. The golf is great too. (Feb 2015)

"Best Place"
Love Whitsand and all the lovely people owners and staff a-like. Best place in UK for everything. (Feb 2015)

"Amazing Place"
We have a lot of our family celebrations at The Whitsand Bay Hotel. Amazing place. (Feb 2015)

“A Truly Delightful Hotel”
Having just spent a gorgeous few days at this delightful hotel I wanted to recommend it here. The fantastic views, homely comfort, and friendly hospitality all combined to make it a truly lovely weekend. The staff were fantastic, the pool & table tennis provided great indoor entertainment & the sunshine made walks by the sea magical. Go and stay - don't expect 5 star grandeur & luxury but do expect 5 star loveliness. Sit back, relax & enjoy (& be hungry, the food is delicious!) Jan 2015

“What a Great Weekend”
It couldn't have been nicer - lovely hotel, friendly and very helpful staff, great food - all in a fabulous location. We had a great walk down to the beach and lots of fun in the pool too. I would definitely recommend this hotel, and will be going again I hope. Jan 2015

“Lovely Relaxed Weekend”
The hotel is in a stunning location. Food was lovely, especially the breakfast. Our room was dated but it was warm and very clean. The rest of the hotel is stylish and comfortable and the atmosphere was so relaxed and welcoming. It was a lovely weekend. Jan 2015

“Restaurant Meal”
Excellent value, good service, wide choice of dishes. £11.50 for 2 courses, including tea / coffee served in comfy lounge. Stunning views, comfortable dining room. Much better than a meal eaten at another local hotel earlier this week that cost nearly 3 times as much. Will I go again or recommend - Definitely! Jan 2015

“Lovely 3 Day Break”
We have just returned from a lovely break at Whitsands Bay. What a beautiful place, sporting a wonderful Christmas tree and decorations at this time of year. The staff are very friendly and helpful. The views are wonderful. An excellent place to relax and unwind. We will return. Dec 2014

“Grand Old Hotel in a Stunning Peaceful Coastal Location”
The Whitsand Bay hotel is situated in a stunning location. It is a grand old building with a welcoming atmosphere. Somewhere to relax and enjoy the stunning views along the south coast of Cornwall. The hotel is in a peaceful location but close to the main routes into Devon and Cornwall and easy access to Plymouth. It has an indoor pool and sauna recently refurbished. The restaurant provides excellent meals and we have always found the staff very helpful Dec 2014

Previous Guest Reviews

Please see a sample of our guest reviews from 20142013 and 2012

twitter facebook