Contact Info
Cornwall PL11 3BU
Call (01503) 230276
or email us
Christmas Parties & Functions

See our Party function menu's, lunches, dinners, dancing & full details...

Read more >
Kids Stay FREE - Oct half-term

Minimum 3 night stay with 2 Adults...

Read more >
Late Summer Offer-Sept & Oct

Dinner Bed & Breakfast with Free Golf & Leisure Facilities

Read more >
Newsletter

Sign up to our newsletter to recieve exclusive monthly deals!

  • "OUR 2nd YEAR. WE HAVE ALREADY BOOKED FOR NEXT YEAR"
  • "Spotlessly clean room. Slept so well. Huge breakfast"
  • “Made use of the lovely pool, steam room and sauna”
  • "Lovely Pool and Steam Room"
  • "THE FOOD WAS EXCELLENT AND I FELT VALUED AS A GUEST"
  • "THE FOOD WAS SUPERB"
  • "3 course meal at Whitsand Bay. It was excellent"
  • "View, Great Staff, Beach and Golf Course"
  • "Pure Pleasure"
  • "WELL LOOKED AFTER & LOVELY FOOD IN A GREAT LOCATION"
  • "A Warm Family Welcome"
  • "Couldn't fault this Cornish Gem. Loved it and will go again"
  • “I HAVE RECOMMENDED IT TO ALL OF MY FAMILY AND FRIENDS”
  • "THE HOTEL IS FAMILY FRIENDLY & DOG FRIENDLY"
  • "Our 3 night family break was an absolute dream. So much so that we extended it"
  • "WELL WORTHY OF ITS TRIP ADVISOR CERT OF EXCELLENCE"
  • "Exceeded Expectations" (2013)

How to Post a Review...

Listening to your feedback is extremely important to us.
If  you  would like to post a review, please follow our Facebook link or email us

“Fantastic Lunch Menu”
It is rare to find a hotel in such a wonderful location, offer a 2 course weekday lunch at £11 and turn out food at such high quality. The hotel is located at Portwrinkle which is close to Downderry in South East Cornwall, definitely worth a visit. (Extract Aug 2014)

“Place to relax and chill, and enjoy good food.”
As a family we have visited Whitsand Bay Hotel many times over the years and it always feels good to return. It is a family run hotel, with all the staff being very helpful and pleasant, plenty to do for families on site and near. Wifi is free, but mainly around the reception area, which was great for us because we were forced to not be on phones and iPads constantly, and work couldn't contact us, totally relaxing. The hotel and beach are dog friendly. The food is lovely, had several bistro menu meals and dinner in the restaurant one night which was served beautifully and very filling. On the nearby beach, rock pools when the tide is out can be enjoyed by young and old. Looe, Polperro and Fowey are all within easy driving distance for a day out, and the car ferry over to Plymouth for £1.50 each way is in the other direction if you fancy a shopping day. (Extract Aug 2014)

“Definitely one to add to your 'Places to Eat' list”

This is a wonderful place to eat, and is in a beautiful part of Cornwall. The hotel has a lovely feel to it, quintessentially English, very much like a gentleman's residence - high moulded ceilings, broad corridors, beautiful stained glass window on the stairs, panelled walls and so on, and it feels comfortable. It's the very opposite of today's high tech chrome and smoked glass and this is it's most endearing quality. As soon as you walk through the doors and step into the hotel, you feel perfectly relaxed and at home. The main restaurant has wonderful views out across the sea. There's a comfortable bar to relax in. The staff are relaxed but attentive, and the owners of this family run business seem to have pitched everything just right. Definitely somewhere to add to your “Places to Try” list – we'll certainly be back again. (Extract Aug 2014)

"Great Value Short Break"
Been before and knew what to expect which is a traditional hotel in a great setting attached to a well presented golf course. We had an amazing 2 night bed and breakfast offer which also included a free (and decent) cream tea. Yes it was a small twin room on the top floor, but this was clean and well-presented and totally adequate. From our previous visits there are bigger & better rooms but these cost more. We stayed for dinner & there is now a choice of several meals at a set price depending on your taste/budget. The grounds are well kept and there are wonderful views out to sea. Would definitely come back again even though we are locals to this scenic corner of Cornwall. (Aug 2014)

“Another Great Visit”
This wonderful family run hotel does not disappoint. A very relaxing stay, great food, comfy rooms, super swimming pool and gardens. Views overlooking the sea, great spot for cream teas or pimms. It is like stepping back in time. No phone signals ....bliss, our 3rd visit and already planning our next. Thank you Phillips family for a wonderful holiday. (Aug 2014)

“Very Good Deal”

Just spend a few days using the hotel as a base for walking the South West Coast Path. Found a tremendous deal on the website. Hotel is old but that is part of the charm. Beautiful views across Whitsand Bay, huge Cornish breakfast, delicious cream tea, very dog friendly and staff very helpful with our transport problem. (July 2014)

“Great Place”
Wonderful place and had a meal for £11 for 2 courses plus tea and there was loads of it with a quick service. The place is immaculate and has wonderful views. Very relaxing. The place is faultless. Gardens are well looked after and you can sit out. (July 2014)

“Superb Position”

I love your hotel - its warm friendly and has great facilities and a superb position (Ann Austin Facebook June 2014)

“Very Romantic”
We stayed here for our mini moon. It was beautiful in December, very romantic! Would love to visit again (Debbie Ferris Facebook June 2014)

“An Amazing Hotel”
This is an amazing hotel had a fab cream tea here (Marilyn Austin Facebook June 2014)

“Excellent Place to Stay”
Had two lovely breaks, excellent place to stay and chill out! (Jeff Whittlesea Facebook June 2014)

“Love to Go Again”
Had a few wonderful stays at Whitsand Bay Hotel. I would love to go again to the best Hotel (Lindy Underwood Facebook June 2014)

“Beautiful Wedding Reception”
Had my beautiful wedding reception here love it so much x (Charlotte Pidgen Facebook June 2014)

“Would Love to Come Back”
Love this place held our wedding night and reception here it was beautiful would love to come back. (Helen Redpath-Bolland Facebook June 2014)

Would Love to Go Again”
I have stayed before it was a Christmas present from our daughter it was most relaxing and the food was good would love to go again. (Carol Trudgeon Facebook June 2014)

“Well Worth a Visit”
We have many happy memories of the Whitsand Bay Hotel as we holidayed here for many years as our children were growing up. It is a family run hotel and we have reports from friends who have stayed here recently who say it is as good as ever. It is well worth a visit. (John Butler Facebook June 2014)

"Our Favourite Secret Hotel"
It's our favourite secret hotel! - We love coming down to visit and challenging ourselves on a great golf course (Michael Palmer Facebook June 2014)

"Favourite Hotel"
My favourite hotel and golf course (Tony Stacey Facebook June 2014)

"Love this Place"
Love this place. We always have our big family meals here. We will be with you to celebrate my mother in laws 80th birthday. Wonderful hotel, excellent staff, stunning views & fantastic food. What more could you want? (Chris Howing-Nicholls Facebook June 2014)

"Wonderful Hotel"
Such a wonderful hotel with lovely staff (Mandy Glanville Facebook June 2014)

"Particularly Good at Christmas"
Great Hotel. Stayed winter and summer. Particularly good at Christmas. (Tony Cleaver Facebook June 2014)

"Lovely People"
Lovely Golf Course and of course lovely people who run it (Ruth Jones Facebook June 2014)

"Fab Views"

Have stayed here & played golf. Lovely hotel & fab views. Would love to return soon xx (Liz Hodgson Facebook June 2014)

"Staff & Location Wonderful"
Loved this hotel, staff and location wonderful. (Mary Lockwood Facebook June 2014)

"A Wonderful Family Run Hotel"
Shared my wedding day here as my whole family love this place! A wonderful family run hotel which we love dearly (Jacqui Willcox Facebook June 2014)

"Excellent Food"
Lovely Hotel in a lovely setting with excellent food and very friendly staff (Christine Martin Facebook June 2014)

"Fantastic Course, Spectacular Holes"
Hi, we had a super round last Friday. The weather was kind to us. Fantastic course in great condition; some spectacular holes. I can't believe I have not heard of this coarse before. You must be keeping this hidden gem to yourselves lol. Had a great sandwich and a pint in the bar afterwards. All in all, a great day, Kind regards Aidan McMahon. Orpington, Kent (June 2014)

“Just as Magical”
Wish I was coming back to my child hood holiday again this summer - returned last summer after 12 years! It was just as magical. Holds the best memories x Holly Spengler (Facebook May 2014)

“Unexpected Return”
Popped in for a coffee prior to golf on a wet & rather cold Saturday in May & received a very warm welcome from John & the crew. This hotel is so quaint and full of character. It is not soul-less & modernised to the hilt - that would spoil it. The 18 hole golf course is superb & challenging too; the local golfers have always been charming and full of conversation too. Can't wait for our next visit combined with golf and overnight stays knowing that we will have a great experience, quality service and delightful food. (May 2014)

“Charm & Character”
We frequently visit for lunch or evening meals. What this hotel is NOT is modern pristine magnolia box. It is however a quirky character establishment in THE most stunning location.
I enjoyed a perfect birthday celebration some months ago where the staff went out of their way to accommodate my family. The grandchildren enjoyed running about in the grounds and we relaxed indoors. We often sit for too long in the relaxing lounge to drink tea or coffee. We have never felt uncomfortable even when we once left without paying the bill! (We did ring and pay when we realised later) Secretly hope not too many people visit this little gem as it is so perfect as it is. (Extract May 2014)

“Fantastic Food”
Fantastic food and amazing views felt very comfortable Colin Deniro Facebook

“Fantastic Hotel”
Fantastic hotel, would recommend highly. Teresa Skinley Facebook

“Love it there”
Love it there. Fantastic place and fantastic staff. Highly recommend Dave Long Facebook

“High Recommend”
Super hotel & idyllic setting. Staff brilliant. Highly recommend. Carol Browning Facebook

“Can’t Wait”
We stayed there in 2009 and are going back this May (2014) for a week. Can't wait! Janice Zorn Facebook

“The Most Fantastic Weekend for Years”
I have just had the most fantastic weekend for years. The hotel was grand and beautiful in the best location with the most spectacular views and access to an unspoiled beach. The bed was so comfortable with the best hug of a duvet ever. The swimming pool was like getting into a bath and the cherry on the top was the steam room. Don't get me started on the food.....i thought Id died and gone to heaven! And all of this at a very affordable price. Will I go back again? Try and stop me! Barbara Pike Facebook

"Huge Thanks"
Huge thanks to you all for most wonderful stay in your hotel. Staff so friendly and helpful, food beautiful, room spotless, well done. Regards Mrs Tait Granville Drive Newcastle upon Tyne (March 2014)

“A Lovely Stay”
I would just like to write this testimonial following our recent stay for two nights at your hotel on Thursday 13th and Friday 14th February 2014. On arrival to the hotel from the minute I had dealt with the lovely lady on front desk, we both had a good feeling about your hotel. The weather was the worst we had seen for years and to make it even more quirky we stayed in the Tower room! Amazing, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would not have wanted to have been anywhere else. All staff we met were friendly and only more than willing to help. It was so lovely that we are going to enquire about getting married at the hotel. The food was lovely and all in all had a lovely stay, would definitely recommend this hotel. Many thanks Karen Hanger and Lee Gardner (Extract Feb 2014)

“My Secret Hideaway”
We have just spent a fabulous weekend at The Whitsand Bay Hotel. The food was exceptional, the hotel spotless and the beds extremely comfortable. The staff are welcoming and nothing seemed to be to much trouble. The added bonus is that it is dog friendly too. The hotel itself is full of character and has a warm and friendly feel to it. It’s a little gem that we are so pleased to have found...A true secret hideaway (although now it’s not so secret!) I will definitely be returning....Thank you to the Phillips family and all the staff. (Feb 2014)

“Convenient & comfortable lunch stop”
On a bright day amidst recent wet and stormy days we went to the small Port Wrinkle harbour for some fresh air and to inspect the storm damage to the sea wall. I must say that we found the hotel welcoming for a rather late lunch and we were offered a dining room 2 or 3 course meal with several choices or bar snacks. The dining room looked inviting and comfortable with sun streaming in through the windows overlooking the bay and catching the pristine white table cloths. The waiting staff were pleasant and efficient. (Extract Feb 2014)

“The best weekend away ever”
A stunning hotel. On arrival I said to my companion that it reminded me of an Agatha Christie murder mystery location ...after meeting the friendly staff at the check in desk I immediately felt relaxed and soaked up the warm cosy atmosphere. The room was twin and everything that we needed was provided, the bed was extremely comfortable and the duvet was like sleeping in a hug. The cleanliness of the hotel was top notch even for the slightly OCD me. I do not have enough adjectives to describe the food...I think the fact that I felt like I’d died and gone to heaven says it all! The footpath down to the beach opened up to a wonderful unspoiled beach which worked out well for an interesting beach walk and beautiful quiet location for a mindful meditation. The swimming pool was like getting into a bath and the steam room was a wonderful relaxing experience after a few lengths. Will I go again? Try and stop me! (Feb 2014)

“Great place for a party”
The staff are very friendly, nothing was too much trouble the hotel was very comfortable.
The views were outstanding. Food was fantastic. Ideal if you have a dog as hotel is dog friendly and lots of places to walk them. This hotel is ideal for a comfortable affordable break with golf and sauna, swimming pool. Bed was very comfortable. Truly amazing weekend. (Feb 2014)

“Fab birthday weekend! Faultless and great food!”
We have just returned from a friend’s birthday celebration at the Whitsand bay hotel where our friends booked out the hotel from Friday to Sunday. The hotel and it's staff offered a fantastic break and catered for all ours and Julie the birthday girls needs and nothing was ever a problem to any one working there. So thanks and well done to all Our room was clean, spacious with a great sea view and had all we needed. The food all weekend was faultless, delicious, plentiful & worthy of being in a classy restaurant & great value too- the breakfast was better than any big chain hotel, fresh with a decent choice & enough to keep you going till the afternoon. We made use of the small but adequate gym, the decent pool , sauna & steam room were also great. We took a coastal walk on Saturday from right outside the hotel which was a 5 mile round trip and lovely on a sunny, fresh day. So all in all, great staff , owners, food, location & value. As someone else said, if you want a sterile, faceless chain type hotel go elsewhere. If you want a family owned & character hotel that's a bit quirky go here, you'll love it! Thanks Tracy From Steve and Bridget (Feb 2014)

“3rd Fantastic Stay Here”
This is now the third time we've stayed at the Whitsand Bay Hotel and we've rebooked for next year and may come back in the summer too! There's something about this hotel that we just love. The location is fantastic; the food is excellent and great value for money; the staff are friendly and helpful and great with the kids; we love the lounge with all the board games and the kids love the swimming pool and games room. It really is a great place to relax, in between swimming, coastal walks, the pool and golf! Thank you for another lovely break! (January 2014)

“A lovely weekend break with your pet dog”
This is lovely hotel in more ways than can be explained. The service in the restaurant for both for dinner and breakfast was excellent. The choice on the menu maybe for some not adequate, but I found it very tasty and superb. The rooms with a sea view are definitely the ones to book., especially room 12 with the four poster bed. The atmosphere in the hotel is very relaxing and with the added benefit of having my pet dog with me.

“Overlooking the sea...”
...it is possible to enjoy a three course Sunday lunch for £16 a head. I tried the cod and asparagus in white wine sauce: good. My wife and father in law chose pork loin...suggesting the crackling was top notch. Service is prompt and coffee taken in the lounge after lunch. All in all, a positive experience.

“Good traditional hotel”
We recently spent the weekend here for a friends 40th birthday celebrations. Our room was large with fabulous sea views and a good size full bathroom. Staff were helpful and prompt with table service at dinner which was arranged as a three course celebration. Tables laid up beautifully. The leisure facilities were good and everywhere was clean and also beautifully decorated for Christmas with a very large real tree in the reception area. We'll behaved dogs are welcomed also. A great place to escape to where you will be given a friendly and warm welcome! Almost forgot to mention the amazing breakfast choice too!

“Will Definitely Return”
This is a stunning hotel with friendly, helpful staff and brilliant service. We stopped for 2 nights and had a comfortable room, fantastic meals in the dining room which were very reasonably priced. The icing on the cake is that it is dog friendly. The views from the dining room and lounge are spectacular and the beach is just a short walk down the cliff steps. We used the gym and the spa facilities and although the pool is small it is adequate. We left here feeling totally relaxed and happy and will most certainly book again.

“Great Views & Great Hotel”
We have just spent three fab nights at this hotel with our much loved dog. We were all made very welcome. The hotel is beautiful. Our room was great with fantastic views overlooking the sea. All the staff were extremely friendly and welcoming. Had a great time. We will definitely be back again.

“Wonderful 60th Birthday Party Weekend”
Chloe, the Whitsand Bay Hotel's event manager, organised and delivered my 60th birthday party weekend for 60+ friends and family. We had a welcome supper and informal drinks on the Friday evening; a fantastic champagne reception and dinner party and fireworks on the Saturday; and a farewell breakfast on the Sunday. it could not have been better and Chloe was so very helpful. I recommend this hotel for such an event and I'm booking my 65th for a re-run.

Guest Reviews 2013

Follow the link to read our Guest Reviews from 2013

Guest Reviews 2012

Follow the link to read our Guest Reviews from 2012

 

twitter facebook